Battles of the sexes: Zuma's girls vs Zille's boys

Written by on May 13, 2009 in u

The race is on the girls vs the boys. Who will deliver and who will shiver.  Zuma in his inauguration speech made it clear there will be zero tolerance for laziness.

While Zuma and ANC tried to be politically correct and chose 4 women premiers:

Nomvula Mokonyane  Gauteng Premier after much debate.  Despite the Eastern Cape’s , Noxolo Kiewit is now the premier-elect. She’s served in many portfolios and since 2004 she’s held the position of Speaker in the legislature.

Kiewit says expectations are very high in the Eastern Cape and thus they need to utilise all State resources to drive towards addressing challenges they face. In the Northern Cape, the province has endorsed John Block but Luthuli House opted for former teacher Hazel Jenkins who says her choice didn’t come as a surprise. Jenkins says they knew that Luthuli House could choose from any of the provincial candidates.

North West Premier Edna Molewa will make way for Maureen Modiselle who shot from the number eight on the provincial list to the top post. The premier candidates for KwaZulu-Natal, Free State, Mpumalanga and Limpopo were largely predictable. On Thursday the ANC said its four women premiers have been chosen because of their experience and expertise. (Source: SABC news)

Zille has decided to choose an all male cabinet comprising of mainly white male. I am sure the unions and the women’s groups are not going to be happy about this. Here is her team. I don’t know what point she is trying to make but let’s hope these outjies can deliver. Here is her cabinet

1. Theuns Botha – Health

Theuns is a farmer and businessman from Riversdale in the Southern Cape. He was a local government councillor for 10 years and was Executive Mayor for 4 years at Langeberg Municipality (now Hessequa Municipality). He became a member of the Western Cape Provincial Parliament in 2004 and held the position of Leader of the Official Opposition for the term of 5 years. Theuns was elected as Provincial Chairman for the DA Western Cape in 2001 and was acting Provincial Leader for 2002. In March 2003 he was elected as DA Provincial Leader and still holds this position. He is a member of the DA Provincial Council and Executive as well as the Federal Council and Executive.

2. Gerrit Van Rensburg – Agriculture

Gerrit is a farmer from Mossel Bay in the Southern Cape. He studied Agriculture at USB. He served as Minister for Agriculture in the Western Cape Cabinet from June 1999 to December 2001. He later also took responsibility for the portfolios of Property Management and Works. Gerrit served for 15 years as Secretary of Agricultural Societies and Unions and for 13 years as a member of the Western Cape Agriculture Executive, of which 3 years was as Vice-Chairman and 3 years as President. In June 2005 he was awarded an Honoree -Presidential Ship for Agri Western Cape.

3. Lennit Max – Community Safety

Lennit Max was elected to the Western Cape Provincial Parliament in 2004, and served as the Democratic Alliance Spokesperson on Community Safety. Prior to his election as a public representative Lennit Max served as Provincial Police Commissioner of the Western Cape. Lennit holds a National Diploma in Police Science, B Proc and LLB Degrees and is a registered Advocate in the High Court of South Africa.

4. Robin Carlisle – Transport and Public Works

Robin Carlisle has served as member of the Western Cape Legislature since 2001. During that time he has served as the DA spokesperson on Transport and Public Works, and on Corruption. He is also a member of the Provincial AIDS Council, and in the past was a founding member of ACTSTOP, an activist group opposing Group Areas removals. He has also been a trustee for the Crossroads and Tafelberg Remedial Schools, and a board member of the Wittebome School for the Deaf. He holds a BA degree in History & Classics, and has had 25 years in retailing, including as Marketing Director at Edgars.

5. Dr Ivan Meyer – Social Development

Dr Meyer was a Senior Lecturer in Public Policy and Local Governance at the University of Stellenbosch at the time of his election to the Provincial Legislature in April 2009. Before that he served as the Chief Director: Provincial Training in the Corporate Services Directorate of the Western Cape Provincial Administration: Western Cape. He holds a Ph.D in Public Administration from the University of Stellenbosch, as well as a number of international certificates and diplomas. He has published widely in the fields of education, housing, local government and public administration.

6. Alan Winde – Finance, Economic Development and Tourism

Alan Winde has been a member of the Western Cape Provincial Legislature since 1999. During his first term he served as Western Cape Provincial Finance Chairman and Executive Committee Member with the Democratic Party. Prior to being re-elected in April 2009, he served as the Chief Whip of the Official Opposition in the Western Cape, as DA Spokesperson on Environment and Planning and as Deputy DA Spokesperson on Economic Development and Tourism. Prior to his first election to the legislature, he served as a councillor in the Outeniqua Rural Council and the South Cape District Council. Alan Winde also has experience as an entrepreneur, having started up a number of small businesses, as a director of a tour company, and as a business broker with Aldes Business Brokers, a South African Top 100 Company.

7. Anton Bredell – Local Government, Environmental Affairs and Development Planning

Anton Bredell previously served as Executive Mayor of Swartland Municipality, after being its Deputy Mayor. He became the chairperson of the Western Cape DA Mayoral Forum in the Western Cape. He has also studied Marketing and Sales Management and was awarded as Marketing Person of the year in 1996. He served as a Commanding Officer in the South African National Defence Force, stationed in Oudtshoorn. He served as councilor in the Darling Transitional Council, and later became Deputy Mayor. He was also chairperson of the Works Committee, and served on the executive committee and finance committees of the Municipality.

8. Bonginkosi Madikizela – Housing

Bonginkosi Madikizela worked as communications officer and spokesperson in the Cape Town Mayors Office before becoming a member of the Provincial Legislature. He has also served as Chairperson of the Khayelitsha Development Forum for 5 years, where he liaised with local and provincial governments on housing projects, economic development and informal settlement services. He has obtained a Bachelor of Commerce Degree in Human Resource Management as well as a certificate in Information Technology, and has previously worked as a computer trainer.

9. Donald Grant – Education

Donald was elected to the Western Cape Provincial Legislature for the first time this year, after his term as a councilor in Bitou Municipality. He brings with him 28 years of experience in the private sector and management. He holds and MBA from UCT.

10. Sakkie Jenner – Cultural Affairs and Sport

Sakkie Jenner is a former member of National Parliament the IDs’ Western Cape Leader. He has been involved in activist movements SANCO (1984) and the UDF. He was also held several senior positions in the ANC, and in trade unions, including NUMSA, POPCRU and SAMWU. He also served as a councillor in the Matzikama Local Municipality, where he was awarded best local councillor in the West Coast. He has also served in various municipalities across the Western Cape, as area manager for the Berg River Municipality, Strategic Manager in the West Coast District municipality and IDP Manager in the Cederberg Municipality. (Source :

Tags: ,


If you enjoyed this article, subscribe now to receive more just like it.

Subscribe via RSS Feed Connect on Instagram Connect on Pinterest Connect on YouTube

Comments are closed.